Learn an American Indian Language with 7000 Languages

A screenshot of an American Indian language course activity

What are American Indian Languages?

When thinking about North American languages, many people think of English, Spanish, and French. But there are actually more than 200 languages spoken by the first peoples of this continent. American Indians (also called Native Americans) have at least 196 different languages. American Indian tribes like the Dakota, the Cree, and the Ojibwe each have their own languages. However, the emphasis on English has threatened many of these languages... and the people who speak them.

Learn American Indian Languages With Our Free Courses

7000 Languages is a nonprofit that creates free language-learning software in partnership with Indigenous communities. We offer free courses in American Indian languages like Ojibwe, Cree, Dakota, and more. We also work all over the world to help Indigenous people keep their languages alive.

A screenshot of an American Indian language course activity

Support Our Work

Want to help? Please consider donating to support our work. Thanks to language advocates like you, our programs are 100% free for Indigenous communities.

You can also show your appreciation for our work by learning an American Indian language. Click the buttons below to get started now!